RSS

The Purpose Driven Life Day 4: Made to Last Forever

18 Jan

The thing that I have the hardest time with is death. I get antsy thinking about it. My palms sweat and I can feel my heart start to beat faster. Because sure I know that there has to be something after this life but WHAT?! I HATE the unknown. I hate suspenseful movies for this. I fast forward through them to find out what happens. I read the end of books to find out if the main character makes it. I have to. Death bugs me for this reason. I don’t know EXACTLY what is going to happen when I die. And no matter how much “faith” I have in God or Religion isn’t going to stop me from wondering this and being apprehensive about it. It’s not even a comfort to know that your soul goes on forever after this. Because what do you do? Do you just hang out? NO ONE KNOWS! You can’t tell me that this guy writing this book knows definitively what goes on after we leave this world. And if this life is just a precursor to a much better place then why place so much importance on getting ahead in this life? Why not just be content on where you’re at? And why if we leave this earth and move on to a different plane would it matter what we did here? If everything starts over, why not a clean slate? We don’t take our bodies with us, so I won’t be fat in heaven right? OR WILL I?!

“This world is fading away, along with everything it craves. But if you do the will of God, you will live forever.” 1 John 2:17(NLT)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 18, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
