RSS

The Purpose Driven Life Day 3

17 Jan

What Drives Your Life?

Everyone in life is driven by something…a problem, a pressure, or a deadline. You can be driven by a painful memory, a haunting fear, or an unconscious belief.

Five most common “driving forces”:
Guilt
Resentment and Anger
Fear
Materialism
Need for Approval

Just looking at this list I can say that I am pretty much driven by all of them to some degree. I like to say that I’m not materialistic, but I can’t. I am very materialistic. I get jealous of people that have better nicer things then I do, and I always think that EVERYONE has nicer, newer things then I do. Even though I am sitting here typing on a brand new computer I know that someone that I know has something better and bigger.

Guilt: “Guilt-driven people are manipulated by memories. They allow their past to control their future. They often unconsciously punish themselves by sabotaging their own success.”
Wow. And yes. Guilty of being guilt driven. I LIVE in my past. All I do is “remember when” and go through my day saying: “If only I would have done this.” “I should have done this, instead of that.” and so on.
I definitely will keep this in mind from now on: “We are products of our past but we do not have to be prisoners of it.”

Resentment and Anger: Just recently I became very angry about something and I wrote it all out in a post and then you know what…I held on to it for the next day and then decided something. I can’t do anything about it. And I let it go. I am getting better at this. I’m getting better at not bottling things up inside. I rarely blow up about things unless I have bottled it up for so long. It’s hard for me because I think it is an inherited trait to hold things and internalize everything but I am trying.

Fear: I’m not so sure about this one by the definition it doesn’t sound like something that I do. I’m not too afraid of the unknown. I’m pretty open to new situations and try to keep myself that way.

Materialism: Like I said before I try really hard not to be like this. The way that I look at it, is that people are killing their selves to have the best and the biggest and I think about it and they probably have outrageous debt and here we are killing ourselves with our debt that I would imagine is only maybe half of other people’s. Even though it is huge for us because we have such a little income. I am happy with what we have. I don’t need to fill our house with endless crap and items, it is hard working at my job though and seeing so many things that “I WANT I WANT I WANT” but then having to tell myself… “we don’t need it.” Materials do not make you happy. I know this.

Need for Approval: this one if you know me…is a no brainer. I am the queen of need for approval. “Being controlled by the opinions of others is a guaranteed way to miss God’s purposes for your life.”

 

Okay so my problem with the rest of the chapter is that he just keeps repeating: “knowing your purpose gives you meaning to your life.” He just says it different ways. BUT he doesn’t explain that. Yeah I get it…I need a purpose and without that I’m not driven to live life the way that God wants me to. But repeating this over and over and in different ways doesn’t SHOW me how to figure this all out. I get it. Without God, life has no purpose, and without purpose, life has no meaning. Without meaning, life has no significance or hope.

I at times feel like there is no hope. There’s no point. But you know what? I get over it, I move on and look at little things and I look at Oscar and say: “there’s my point…to get him through life.” I know that I have a reason to be here. I just want to know what it is already.

Another problem I have with all this is that if God already KNOWS everything then why would he question us when we get to heaven? Why would we have a “final exam” as the author says when we get to heaven…wouldn’t God already know what we did with our lives? And he would already know what we were going to say so why waste his eternal time? Can you imagine God’s day? Asking EVERY SINGLE PERSON that goes up to heaven? And what about babies?? It makes no sense to me.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 17, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
