RSS

The Purpose Driven Life

09 Jan

Day One: “It’s not about YOU”

“Unless you assume a God, the question of life’s purpose is meaningless.” -Bertrand Russell, atheist.
(First off…the book quoted that and why would they title him “atheist” is that weird to anyone else?)
So you only have purpose through God. Without God life makes no sense. This makes no sense. Does this mean that even though I’ve believed in God all my life I really don’t because I don’t know my meaning in life? Or I just haven’t tried hard enough to hand everything over to God? I don’t get it.

Question from the book: “How can I remind myself today that life is really about living for God, not myself.”
Yesterday Jesse went to the store and while he was in line visited with the people behind him. He was just getting some food for us for dinner…When he went to pay for the food the lady cancelled his debit card transaction and paid for his food. I don’t know why but I guess if you look at life through God eyes then you can take this as a gift from God. The people also “God Blessed” him as he walked away.
Jesse came away with a sense of “what the hell just happened” I came away with “People are amazing!”

“God’s wisdom…goes deep into the interior of his purposes. It’s not the latest message, but more like the oldest – what God determined as the way to bring out his best in us.”

 

I still don’t know how to take this all. I know it’s going to be tough for me because all I want to do is question everything.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 9, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
