RSS

New Year. New Direction.

08 Jan

I think around two years ago my mom sent me a book and on the first page she put a name card and it says

“Randa – Turn”

It’s been on my shelf for two years.

I have come to a point in my life where I’m not religious anymore. I think I still believe in God or that there is a God or something. There has to be something…there has to be a purpose. I don’t know if GOD is that purpose though. I have a really hard time with religion. I believe that you can be a good person without having to be a Christian. You can treat others with respect and kindness without going to church and without hypocritical people telling you to be kind when they themselves are judging and are not kind themselves.

So this book is a 40 day spiritual journey that will enable you to discover the answer to life’s most important question: What on earth am I here for?

It is called: The Purpose Driven Life.

I don’t know if this book is going to teach me anything. I don’t know if it will help me “find God” I really don’t know if I’m even looking for him.

If you want to join me on this you’re more than welcome to. (mom, and sisters) I think it’s just going to make me question the book more than myself. Because already with the first day all I have are questions. The whole thing doesn’t make sense to me already and all I want to do is read the whole thing in one sitting. But the “rules” are that you have to do one chapter a day and “really think on it.”

So here it is…Deep breath…I’m diving in!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 8, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “New Year. New Direction.

  1. Melly Moo

    January 8, 2011 at 5:34 pm

    I read that book after she gave it to me but I read it in chunks because I am very bad at waiting and doing what people tell me. 🙂 Maybe I will try again. Maybe you shouldn’t hold your breath. 🙂 I am reading the 7 habits of highly effective people for a class and I am enjoying it! Hope you get what you need from it, also it is really good to question everything but sometimes you also have to hold the questions and just soak the words up until they mean something to you. Good luck!

     
  2. Audrey at Barking Mad

    January 8, 2011 at 7:23 pm

    “I think I still believe in God or that there is a God or something. There has to be something…there has to be a purpose.”

    This sort of sums up where I’m at right now. Well, OK if I were feeling generous, it would sum it up. The child of a close friend recently died and I’m back to my “OK Dude, where’s the mercy and benevolence? You didn’t show me any and took Josh and now you’ve taken another one. What’s up with that?”

    So, it’s ironic that I pulled your post up and noticed that you’ve had the very same book on your shelf that I’ve had on mine, for almost as long. Even more ironic as I kick off my huge “Weight and See” campaign to lose the 250lbs that I have to. I’ve sort of given up asking God for the strength because it just hit me recently that the strength lies within ME! I know in my soul there is something more out there…some ethreal being or simply SOMETHING there. The thing is, I don’t know what it is. Maybe it IS God. I don’t know.

    I’ll tell you what…you read a chapter a day and so will I. Maybe between the two of us we’ll come out at a better place. Or maybe just happier with the place we’re at and where we’re headed!

     
  3. Ann Choate

    January 8, 2011 at 7:28 pm

    Randa, Maybe the search isn’t for God but you. Maybe in the discovery of you, your talents, and your worth you see the purpose and know the Designer. Just a thought. Remember too that you live with a questioner, cinic (sp), and doubter all in one love. Love you

     

Leave a Reply

 
