RSS

Being Thankful For the Right Things

25 Nov

My family was supposed to be here.

I was supposed to have my whole house full of my favorite, well the bulk of my favorite, people today. This house was supposed to be noisy and busy by now.

But it’s not.

My dear sweet oldest sister was in a car wreck on her way to get her son on Tuesday. She is just fine. She wasn’t seriously injured. Just sore now. Her car however is not okay. I am beyond thankful something worse didn’t happen. I am so thankful she wasn’t hurt and that she made it out. That road to Bend has claimed several loved ones of families from my home town over the years and I am glad and thankful that it didn’t do that to us this year.

I knew that I wouldn’t be able to get through writing this post without crying. I’m sitting here bawling, again, thinking about what I’m missing today. And thinking about what I could be missing had something happened to her.

Today I’m cooking a turkey largely on my own for the very first time. I was really happy to have Thanksgiving at my house with my whole family but with the help of my mom and sisters. Which would have meant I wouldn’t have had to do anything. But now? I’m on my own. Well not completely. Thankfully I do have an aunt and a couple uncles that seem to come through in a clutch and help me. My uncle who has come forward to say that he put a hex on me for “stealing his dinner party” is now making the “dressing” did you know that “dressing” was just a fancy word for stuffing? I didn’t. I swear to God I never paid any attention to what was cooked. I just ate it. I should have maybe helped out a little more in years past. So Thanksgiving will still go on here at my house. Just not as loud and a little bit sad.

Being thankful for the right things today means being thankful that you have a family. Even though they’re 400 miles away. And knowing that they’re just as sad as I am that they’re not here helps me just a little.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 25, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Being Thankful For the Right Things

  1. Big Sister Katie

    November 25, 2010 at 10:20 am

    Oh Randa! I sure hope you know how much I do love you and how much it hurts my heart that we are not there with you already getting a buzz on and laughing with you and yelling and fighting and just being obnoxious!!
    The holidays are never the same or quite complete when there is one missing. But I am thankful that you are safe and snug with your little family and that I am still here and not 6 feet under or whatever they decide to do with me when I am dead! I have said that I don’t want anyone to be sorrowful if I should die and I really don’t give a shit what you do with my dead body ~ because you know I will be dead and in much better place! I want everyone to party and get plowed and have a joyous get together when I die .. and hopefully I will be really really stinkin’ pants poopin’ old when that happens! I want to live long enough to just drive my boys completely insane, like annoy the shit out of them until they think they want to kill me!
    Enough of that!
    You hang in there Randa and know that you have a shitload of people that love you so much and really wants to be there and not stuck here in po-dunk Burns because of my stupid wreck and weather!

    ~Katie

     
  2. subWOW

    November 25, 2010 at 12:29 pm

    {{{{hugs}}}}

    I am so glad that your sister was not hurt. And that your uncles and aunts are coming through to help you out. Perhaps it’s a good opportunity to tackle that bird alone? Would be something to be proud of right? I haven’t had the courage to cook a turkey yet. And I didn’t not know dressing means stuffing. At first I thought: Was he just going to make you salad dressing? Better be THAT good. LOL.

    Happy Thanksgiving!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
