RSS

People

16 Aug

Please read this post in it’s entirety before commenting. I don’t want you to get through the first couple of paragraphs before jumping off the handle. If you can’t think of anything intelligent to say in response to it. Spare me please. I do value others’ opinions but only when they are clear and thought out.

People
Are exhausting. I’m so tired of it. I’m tired of people not educating themselves. Not willing to learn the truth. Not the truth of their “party” or their “religion” but their OWN truth. Not willing to see past lies that have been told to them by political groups or religious sects.
My heart hurts most of the time when I have to hear about politics and religion. Not because I know more then most people. Because I don’t. But because I feel more then most people. Because I can see both sides of a story, and for some reason most people can’t.

I was going to do a nice little fluffy post about my awesome fake enchiladas but I can’t bring myself to do it.
Not when things are swirling around in my head and making it hurt and make my heart heavy. Not when there are so many people who can’t get past certain things and only have one track minds. When the amazingly brilliant people in my life have to sit in silence while all this hate and ignorance is just left to spread around and make everyone in the world suffer.

Did you know that we have freedom of religion in this country? That means ALL RELIGIONS. Not just the Christian ones. Or the ones YOU think are the “good” ones. That means every person who comes to America has the right to their own religion to make their own religious buildings, where they want, when they want. This also for some reason means that people can protest this. Because “you’re religion isn’t the right one, mine is.” What makes us different from other countries is this fact. Of course a middle eastern country is not going to let a Christian religion build a church on “holy ground.” But what I want to know is why would “Ground Zero” be considered “holy ground.” It is more tragic than anything. That’s what makes America what it is. Because here in America no matter what religion you practice you are free to do so. And if we think we are better than everyone else in the world then why not be BETTER than everyone else in the world? Why not be better and if they won’t let people have the freedom to build wherever they want let us do it. A mosque near “Ground Zero” is not going to bring terrorism to America. It’s already here. What a mosque is going to do is send a message saying “We are not like you.”
“We have tolerance here, unlike you.”
“We love ALL people.”
All this is going to do is build a place for people to gather. To be educated. To be with people. To learn about other human beings.

Educate yourself about Islam, about any religion before you start throwing your opinions around about it, based on what you hear from the TV or newspaper, or political leader. Open your minds. Open your hearts to other people. America is a big melting pot of different people. I don’t know how many times I’ve heard this. And the only way we are going to get stronger is to embrace those people who we are most afraid of. Islam is not al-Qaida. al-Qaida is it’s own sect of the larger religion. Just like Methodists, Catholics, Lutherans, Mormons, Jehovah Witness, etc, are all sects of this wonderful “religion” of Christianity. The more we are ignorant of people the more we fear people. Fear is what drives people to hate.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 16, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “People

  1. subWOW

    August 16, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    Well said!

    “A mosque near “Ground Zero” is not going to bring terrorism to America. It’s already here. What a mosque is going to do is send a message saying “We are not like you.” ”

    I was ambivalent before I read your post. Now I have goose bumps all over my arms because of what you have so eloquently convinced me. Thank you!

     
  2. Ann Choate

    August 16, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    I am in awe!! You did well my sweet daughter. I wanted all my children to feel and care, truly care about their world and all who are in this world. You did well. Mom

     
  3. Faiqa

    August 18, 2010 at 9:57 pm

    Well said. And *thank you* for saying it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
