RSS

Budgeting is a lot like Weightloss

15 Jul

Fail Pictures, Images and Photos
Okay so I have a problem with my weight, we know this. I also have a problem with my bank account. Jesse and I combined really don’t make as much as other people. But we manage to pay our bills and we’re able to get things here and there for us that we need. Sometimes I forget that we don’t have an unlimited supply of money and I go and buy things that I “think” I need. Like shorts. I know! I don’t NEED shorts. I could just wear my jeans all summer, or my yoga pants or whatever. So that money goes away. Or I decide that it would be in our best interest to not let Jesse go by himself all the way to Astoria and I spend way too much money going to see my dad.

And then I wake up in the morning and my cell phone won’t work. YAY! I forgot to pay the bill when we had money! And oh yeah that awesome “personal trainer” yeah I’m still paying for him…$79 every other week! I have to figure out when that finally stops. I hope soon. Oh and I have to get Barb and I together to go in and cancel the whole thing because you have to sign a paper and I’m pretty sure that if I go in there by myself they’ll want to see Barb too. That means we have to take Oscar in there as well. Which is always fun.
Anyway. The point is. I can’t seem to control my spending as I can’t seem to control my weight. Well my weight is holding steady at a point where I don’t want it to be.

So now what I need to do is figure out how to stop spending money and budget. The only thing is Jesse’s income is STILL erratic and I never know what he will make. And mine won’t cover everything to be able to budget accordingly. My bank has this nifty thing on line but all it does is make me feel worse because every month it says we’re living outside our means. It says “You’ve spent ___ in the past 15 days, see where it went!” Oh I know where it went alright, I just don’t want you to rub it in.
Maybe what I will do is just take my paycheck and pay the bills with it. What bills I can, when I get paid and then with Jesse’s I will supplement that and also use it to you know…feed us. I have to stop taking time off and actually work so I can get better pay checks.

I took my second test for the Police Radio Dispatch and it went okay. Not as good as I hoped but I got confused on the whole “Is this house on the north side of the street or the south side, or on the west or east side of the street” I think I went dyslexic on it and well yeah, that was the only tough part. Usually I’m the first one done with those tests but man! There were like 4 people who got done before me! I was amazed!  I can only hope that they did worse than me. I am now on a list and I guess they’ll call me when my name gets to the top.
In the mean time I am going to work on getting better at not spending money. Which is hard, because I have money. I should be able to spend it but then I have to remind myself that I don’t actually have money.

*Photo at the top has nothing to do with the post except I kinda feel like that kid sometimes. (I got it from photobucket if you need to know)*

 
 

3 responses to “Budgeting is a lot like Weightloss

  1. Melly Moo

    July 15, 2010 at 2:24 pm

    Randa that picture is exactly how I feel! hung up to dry! Hoping to God my panties don’t rip! I think the budgeting thing a family problem. None of us are good at money! I am terrible at it! I am excellent with other people, making sure they are on budget and reminding them of it but when it comes to myself…eehh not so good. I think that we should all swap checkbooks and you can be in charge of me i will be in charge of yours. joel is already taking care of kate. 🙂 how does that sound? haha!

     
  2. subWOW

    July 17, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    That was one super wedgie! I am keeping my fingers crossed for the call back from the police dept. (Well, normally you don’t want to get a call from the police dept but this is am exception!)

     
  3. vd

    July 17, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    choate, these people want you. you know they do. they’re going to call. b/c you’re the tits.
    as far as the personal trainer is concerned you can actually kill both of these birds with one stone by actually going to see the personal trainer. it’s strange and weird but believe you me, it’s bomb. my place is all ultra-cool and i’m in there with crap shorts and a mismatched tank and i’m getting my sweat on b/c that’s what counts. you’ll love it if you take the time to give it a real go.
    we know my $$ sitch. i live in manhattan by myself at an under-paying, under-respected job and it’s somehow still happening. i was thinking about a loan from my 401k! you’re a crazy smart individual who needs to spine up and own your sitch. do it! b/c you can. also, i haven’t tried this program but i think i might.
    http://www.slatev.com/video/keeping-your-benjamins/

    you’re awesome and i love you.

     

Leave a Reply

 
