RSS

My Mom…

10 May

I went home to Burns this past weekend for a surprise party for my mom who turned 60 last week. I was all set to get up in front of people and say a little something about my mom but as it turned out there wasn’t really a chance to do it. So I told her I would just blog about it instead…

When I was in third grade my teacher asked us what we wanted to be when we grow up. I raised my hand and said proudly “I want to be a mom, just like my mom, because she’s a good mom.” My teacher told me, “You can’t JUST be a mom because your kids will grow up and leave you old and alone.”
Mom is 60, we’re all grown up. She might be old…but she’s not alone! Considering all but one of her five children have moved back to our home town. She is now always surrounded by kids or grand kids and I think that is just what she always wanted.
Mom has been my inspiration and my hero all my life. She has been my number one support through ANYTHING I have done. Weather it be going to college or working at Wal-Mart, mom has always been my cheerleader. Any time I called to tell her I got a new job she would have her sights set high for me. I don’t know if that puts too much pressure on me but it makes me feel good that she believes that I can do ANYTHING. Even when I don’t believe it myself.

She is proud of us no matter what we do. And I have always been proud of her no matter what she does. She’s always looking out for everyone. She’s always doing her best for others.

Mom has raised five wonderful individuals. We haven’t grown up to become captains of industry but we still have some time.

I love you mom. You are the reason I’m the person I am today.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 10, 2010 in My Kind of Love

 

Tags:

3 responses to “My Mom…

  1. Margie Hoag

    May 10, 2010 at 12:08 pm

    I agree, your mom is one of the best. Great gal, always happy, always upbeat. I do have to disagree with one thing you said tho, she’s not old! Just wait, it goes by fast, and numbers are just that – numbers. I will be 61 when my youngest graduates from high school. One time I had a very wise lady – oh yeah her name is Ann Choate – tell me “so what, you’ll be 61 anyway, why not go to his graduation that year.” Smart, smart lady.

     
  2. Katie

    May 10, 2010 at 2:24 pm

    The weekend went way to fast and there was way too much to do and not enough time to get it all done … I wanted or felt I needed another weekend tacked onto the weekend we had!
    I hope that you had a great time this weekend and know that we are all happy with where you are at as long as you are happy with where you are at!
    Our Momma is the very best Momma us kids could ever have! I would never trade my Mom in for another mother EVER! My only hope is that one day I will be just as good of a Mom as she has been for us!
    I love you Randa and I wish that we had taken the time to do speeches .. . you should have slapped me! hee hee

     
  3. subWOW

    May 11, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    Happy Mother’s Day (belated…) to you and your mom. That’s a beautiful picture and this is a beautiful tribute.

    What’s wrong with that teacher?! Omg!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
