RSS

NEW Books! and Oh Someone’s Standing on a Soapbox…

07 Mar

Well I got two out of three books today. EXCITING! I’m excited. Today the mail carrier dropped off The Sparrow by Mary Doria Russell and The Meaning of Night by Michael Cox. My brother recommended the Sparrow and my friend Leslie recommended The Meaning of Night. I’m going to start them today. Both simultaneously because I’m awesome like that, and I can read two books at the same time. Just another reason why I’m better than you! What is my problem??? Why am I so snarky lately? Okay I’ll quit now.
Man I hate local news.
Okay now I’ll quit. I am really excited too, about seeing so many comments. I enjoy it immensely. And I had a good day at work yesterday, which was preceded by a sucky day so yesterday was a good day. I’ll say it again, I know I said it on FB and Twitter. I got complimented on my amazing cashiering skills by a couple customers and that made the day before practically disappear.
Turning to my work. I would like to say that when people bitch about WM I just want to tell them that honestly to me, it’s more the customers attitudes that make WM suck, it’s honestly most of the time, not the workers’ faults. Yes I said it. And listen I know that there are shitty cashiers and crabby managers. But there are FAR more bitchy customers. And just think while you’re standing in that line waiting and wondering why there are only two registers open that maybe someone’s husband died, or maybe someones very favorite best good co-worker had to take an unexpected leave of absence, so they’re a little short handed at the moment. Give a cashier a smile. Give them a break. Oh and think for a moment that it might not be the cashier’s fault the line is moving so slowly. They are moving only as fast as they can. They’re not purposefully going slow just to piss you off and make your day crappy.

I go to work with a smile on my face, every day. Because no matter what happens before work, or after work or whenever, it’s not my customer’s fault. So that gives me no reason not to smile and greet people warmly. I get yelled at by a supervisor and yes I get mad, but I do not take it out on the next customer in line. I put my smile right back on and make sure that they leave the store thinking: “Man that woman was really nice to me.” Or something to that effect.

Before I hop off my soapbox this doesn’t just go for WM, this goes for anywhere you shop. Any fast food place you go to. Remember that everyone has a story.

Have a wonderful day enjoy the sunshine if you’ve got it. It’s going to be a good day.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 7, 2010 in Angry Ranting, Book Talk

 

3 responses to “NEW Books! and Oh Someone’s Standing on a Soapbox…

  1. Katie

    March 7, 2010 at 7:34 am

    So what kind of happy medication are you on? Hee Hee! I just have to razz you b/c you know I am your older, much older, sister!
    I love the new attitude shown here Randa … change your attitude and change your day!
    I have been listening to the male version of Joyce Meyer and have fallen under the spell of the gospel and my outlook and way has changed alot! well it could also be that I am now longer working where I was constantly tormented!
    Keep up the good attitude ~ I love to hear your chipperness ~ that’s my sister Randa!
    Love you lots and lots!

     
  2. Melly moo

    March 7, 2010 at 10:05 am

    I say stand on your soap box whenever you want! Love it!

     
  3. Sabreena

    March 9, 2010 at 9:32 am

    I always try to remember that there is a human behind that register. I hate it when people are rude or cranky toward someone who is administering a service. I was even nice to that lady who made me dig through my groceries to use my coupons. Maybe she had arthritis or amnesia and that is why she had suck a hard time. We should all try to put ourselves in the place of others and then treat them accordingly.

     

Leave a Reply

 
