RSS

Mushy Makes Me Uncomfortable

14 Feb

I don’t like romantic things. I don’t like “mush.” I hate seeing people make-out. I saw a couple walking in front of my house one day and they stopped, RIGHT IN FRONT OF MY HOUSE and kissed…for a good 10 second kiss, and then continue on their walk, arm in arm all wrapped up. First off. Why? And second, HOW? How did they manage to go on a walk all wrapped up like that? I am not mushy. I don’t like romantic movies, I can barely handle romantic comedies. I just got done watching Whip It and the whole time she was falling for the cute boy in a band, it made my head hurt. I didn’t watch those parts. I don’t know why. I don’t remember my mom and dad making out in front of us all the time. I don’t remember them sitting on the couch together cuddling. I do remember them kissing on occasion when dad would get home. And maybe this is why. Ugh and I hate when my brother and his wife lay on the couch together in a spooning position. Nothing makes me more uncomfortable then that. I don’t like outward expressions of love. I don’t kiss Jesse all the time. And I don’t feel less loved because of it. Sure he tells me he loves me before I leave or he leaves. But I think our show of love is a little different. It’s a slap on the ass or a pillow in the face, then an “OH I’M SORRY!” when a corner gets an eye. I don’t feel less loved because of this either. I don’t hold hands with him because my hands sweat all the time. And they get worse around extra body heat.
I can’t handle seeing people express their love in mushy ways. I hate seeing my friends hold hands with their significant others. It just throws me back to days of when I was the single one and everyone was holding hands and I wanted that. And then when I got it, well I didn’t do it, because of the sweating problem.
Sometimes I worry about Oscar and if he’ll be stunted by this, but I don’t hold back my love on him. He gets hugs and kisses all the time. Even from his dad.
I don’t ever expect special presents for Valentines Day, I never got them growing up, and I never really intended on starting. So I never really nag Jesse to get me anything. If he does, I’m surprised and then I give him shit for it. I don’t get flowers, I don’t get candy. And I don’t honestly care about it. Valentines is just another day for me. Maybe because every day with out having out ward mushy signs of it, I know that everyone in my life loves me.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 14, 2010 in Angry Ranting, Introspection, My Kind of Love

 

3 responses to “Mushy Makes Me Uncomfortable

  1. lesliecagle

    February 16, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    By “pillow” do you mean the pillow from Mel’s pillow pants dance? Because that would be funny and gross.

     
  2. submom

    February 17, 2010 at 7:41 pm

    So does that mean you don’t watch any romantic movies? And actually, even action movies contain some of these scenes…

     
    • randadawn

      February 18, 2010 at 9:20 am

      Nope, I don’t watch romantic movies at all. I can barely stand romantic comedies, and love scenes make me extremely uncomfortable. I bare through them if it’s a good movie.
      Yes I know I’m weird.

       

Leave a Reply

 
