RSS

Probably going to Piss My Sister Off…Why I’m Leaving Facebook

06 Feb

I don’t get it. I have a love hate relationship with Facebook and I’m one stupid status update away from just canceling it all together. I do enjoy “reconnecting” with “old friends” from high school and keeping up with family members and friends that are far away from me. But there are a lot of annoying things about Facebook. And now. Sorry to my eldest sister…but when my nephew joined…who is 11ish? Or soon to be 11 and yes I did accept his friend request, because he’s my nephew and well, yeah I didn’t want to hurt his feelings. I just feel like I’m done with it all. I don’t understand why 11 year olds need Facebook. I think they have enough socialization at school and really how much more do they need? What do they gain from Facebook? Am I old fashioned and out of it? When Oscar turns 7 or 8 and asks to join the Facebook of his time will I let him? I hope that I don’t go back on this, but I will ask him why. And he’ll have to give me a decent enough reason.
I have locked down my facebook page. Only my friends can see my pictures. Not friends of friends, just friends. Not because my pictures are that awesome, but because if I want to share them, I want it to be my decision. I’m honestly considering just stopping it all together. I don’t like it when politics get on facebook. It makes me uncomfortable to hear people’s opinions with no basis or knowledge behind the statements. I hate worrying about my status updates and thinking that someone is judging me for what I wrote. I hate just sitting here thinking “oh god I really need to write something funny.” And wondering how many people have just hidden me from their pages. Which also makes me wonder why they want to be friends with me in the first place. I have cleaned out my page on several occasions. Once when I was done playing a huge game and I ended up with way more friends then I needed. And then again when I was even more tired of other people who didn’t have any bearing on my life. And now I want to do another one and just put it down to family and friends. And by friends I mean people that I love. People I communicated with on a regular basis.

I’m not writing this as a veiled threat to get the “please don’t quit” comments. Which I’m not sure I would get anyway. But I’m writing this to get it out of my head and on to something else. And then I wonder why this even effects me this way. Why can’t I just let Facebook be? Why can’t I just let it go? Because it is important to me. I am very much a voyeur, I like peeking in. This is why I love blogs and blogging.

My nephew chatted with me today, and I fell into talking to him like I would anyone else. Forgetting that he’s 10 or 11. And telling him exactly what I was doing, instead of just saying “oh things.” I told him I was texting my friend, checking twitter, and thinking about what to blog. He only asked “what does blog mean?” And I laughed. Because what does “blog” mean? I told him. “It’s kind of like a public journal, I talk about what I’m doing and people in my life can read it, it’s pretty pointless actually but good if you want to just write.”

I don’t know at this point if I am going to leave Facebook. I know that I am probably not going to be on it very much. And I’m going to take it off my tweetdeck for a while. I think what I need is a break. To figure out why I’m on Facebook.

I don’t really need a reason from my sister why she let her son have a Facebook account. I’m sure it’s just because his older brother has one, and he sees the games he can play and why not? Everyone else has one. I still love her, and I think what ever she does with her kids is her business. And honestly I want to thank her for allowing him to join. Because it’s given me something to think about. And finally a release on my writers block.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 6, 2010 in Introspection

 

Tags:

3 responses to “Probably going to Piss My Sister Off…Why I’m Leaving Facebook

  1. MellyMoo

    February 6, 2010 at 11:56 pm

    You go girl! Kiss asked for a facebook page today and I said “absolutely not!” Just like when she asked for a cell phone. I think that it is something that you should be at least 16 years old to join…or something like that. Like your driver’s license. It’s the same as giving that 8 year old a stinking cell phone. Why in the hell do they need that and are they going to use it appropriately! Thank you dear sister for your spirited journalism. I love you!

     
  2. Jayme

    February 7, 2010 at 11:40 am

    I think lots of younger kids have facebooks purely for the games. I know you can set it up so that they can only access certain things.

     
  3. Katie

    February 7, 2010 at 10:43 pm

    Ok … here’s the comment that you were waiting for from the sister you were writing about here!
    It was pure exhaustion and the whole thought of why not? his computer (he purchased the neighbors 6 yr old computer himself) sits right beside mine and I watch what he does while he is on it … what does letting your 11 yr old (yes he’s 11 now and will soon be 12) have a FB account hurt? Annoy the hell outta people when he sends an IM when you are not wanting to talk with anyone? Oh well! Delete him. He just had his 1st f**k you from someone on IM and he was shocked … I said “you irritated that person, now leave it alone” He was hurt! But he is my sensitive child. Why would you let your 8 yr old have a FB account? no .. my youngest is not going to be getting one yet.
    Leave or stay … it is always your decision, I am not going to beg you to stay. You know my phone number I guess I will hear from you when you call … because every time I think to call you it’s like right now, 1030 or 1100 at night that’s when I have quiet time and no one interrupting me with their nonsense … you will soon find this out!
    I will miss the photos you post or share and I forget to check out the blogs, because I have no reminders … I remember about once a week to check them out ~ if that!
    My thing is this: I wish you weren’t so insecure and self conscience … You are fine! The people that matter love You no matter what you do and we will find you! You put too much stock in what people say about you and some of those people don’t even matter ~ they have no relevance in your life!
    I love you and I mean it!

     

Leave a Reply

 
