RSS

Really?

06 Jan

So I’m looking on the NaBloPoMo site and reading through the couple of blogs that people post on the main page and uhm there is nothing going on about “best” I think people just write about anything they want to and if they happen to write about “the best” something or other then it’s all great. So I’m the only one following the suggestion? Does that make me a follower or just someone who’s walking along but slightly out of line?

I am super worn out today for some reason. I think I know the reason but I don’t want to go into it really. I’ll just quote Bevis and Butthead “Maybe your lactose intolerant!” “NO! I said I poop too much! Then I get tired.”

Oscar wanted to take a nap, but I knew he was just playing with me. So we laid in my bed and he watched Tom and Jerry and I napped for an hour. Now he’s off playing with his grandma so I have a minute to type. I really need to change the channel though, I do not like Pokemon. By the way, spell check knows Pokemon! CRAZY!

Okay I’m done.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 6, 2010 in NaBloPoMo, The Best

 

2 responses to “Really?

  1. Land of shimp

    January 7, 2010 at 10:57 am

    I don’t think it makes you a follower, or unoriginal or anything of that nature. I think you’re trying to figure out how to do something new, and when doing that, it makes sense to follow directions. Sort of like consulting a cookbook when learning to cook. I’m pretty sure that’s a good thing, Miranda, and one of the traits that people who are capable of learning throughout their lives share.

    Doing something new? Start off by following the directions. That’s actually supposed to be the mark of an organized mind, capable of making distinctions about worth, by the way. I’m sure you’ve seen this, or heard of this, but there’s a test often given to high schoolers. There is a list of twenty instructions, the first says to write your name, the date, and the time in the upper right hand corner, and to read all directions before completing the rest of the test. The second question can vary, but generally has things like word math problems (“A train leave Chicago at 3pm…” that sort of thing), all along, there are tasks of varying difficulties listed, but the twentieth, and last direction clearly says, “Disregard numbers 2-19 and put your pencil down.”

    Now, everyone eventually catches on. They are there, desperately figuring out crap like train schedules, and the weight of mangos in the congo, they look around, and noticed other students complacently sitting, with their pencils sitting next to an empty workbook. Then they read the rest of the directions.

    The test isn’t about how much of a follower you are, but about comprehension, and the ability to organize information before a task.

    You’d have passed that test, and it is actually a good thing.

     
  2. Randa

    January 9, 2010 at 2:56 pm

    I have taken that test! I remember doing it in high school. And yes I did it the right way. And chuckled watching everyone else keep going.

     

Leave a Reply

 
